Friday, March 20, 2015

Law Society of Upper Canada Honours Lawyers

Every year the Law Society of Upper Canada (the "Law Society") presents its "best of the profession awards". This year awards will be presented on May 27, 2015 at Osgoode Hall. The Law Society was founded in 1797 and is the largest of all Canadian law societies. As of 2010 the Law Society is the regulating body of over 40,000 lawyers, and 2,800 paralegals in Ontario.

Recently the Law Society announced this years award winners of the Law Society Medal, the Lincoln Alexander Award, the Laura Legge Award and the William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award.

In a statement the Law Society Treasurer Janet Minor recently said,
The Law Society looks forward to honouring these 11 exceptional legal professionals whose careers represent the highest level of achievement and commitment to serving the public and the professions.
The 2015 Law Society Medal recipients are:
  • Craig R. Carter, CS
  • Prof. Adam M. Dodek
  • Susan Eng
  • Faisal Joseph
  • John B. Laskin
  • H. J. Stewart Lavigueur
  • E. Patrick Shea, CS
  • Chantal Tie
This medal is awarded in recognition of distinguished service. As of 2014, the Law Society Medal has only been awarded to 160 lawyers. 

The 2015 Lincoln Alexander Award recipient is Paul Le Vay. This award is presented annually to an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated a long-standing interest and commitment to the public and the the pursuit of community service.

The 2015 Laura Legge Award recipient is Kimberly Murray. This award is presented annually to a female lawyer in Ontario who has exemplified leadership within the profession.

The 2015 William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award recipient is W. Paul Dray. This award is presented annually to a paralegal in Ontario who has demonstrated one or more of the following characteristics: outstanding professional achievement, contribution to the development of the profession, devotion to professional duties, adherence to best practices and mentoring of others in best practices, a history of community service, or personal character that brings credit to the paralegal profession.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients on the recognition by the Law Society of their respective achievements.

- Kenneth R. Bandeira, Associate Lawyer, Toronto

Visit our Toronto Law Office website:

Post a Comment